Finally got some decent pictures with Salina, and just in time too! Its about to get HOT here in Dallas!

Salina FO

Salina FO

Salina FO

Salina FO

Pattern: Salina by Kim Hargreaves, Rowan Vintage Knits
Needles
: US 3 and US 1 Addi Turbo circulars
Yarn: Rowan Felted Tweed in Rage # 150, less than 7 balls
Size: Large (38″)
Mods: Short rows in bust, cuffs picked up and knit in the round, used size 3 cirs for seed stitch on the hip

My first pullover, my first seamed sweater, and my first experience with Felted Tweed. I love how it turned out! Inadvertently I cast on using the larger size needle, so the hip isn’t really fitted, which may be an issue later but only time will tell. I also added a total of 12 short rows to the bust, which made a HUGE difference I think – it fits perfectly there. Instead of knitting the cuffs separately I picked up around the edge of the sleeve and just knit them in the round. Mostly because I was lazy, but also because I wasn’t sure whether the cuffs flopped around, and I didn’t want to find out. The only issue I see with this knit is where it bunches around the underarms. I’ll have to see how to alter for this problem with my later projects.

Have you ever been so anxious to finish a project that you hunkered down for an entire day adding the finishing touches? I have. With this sweater. See, I live in an area where cold weather doesn’t usually last past April, and I knew I only had a few days left before it was hotter than Hades here. So I went to my LYS on a Saturday, and spent the entire day, and I mean the ENTIRE DAY from noon until 5 knitting those cuffs on size 1 needles. I didn’t eat, drink, or stop but a few times to fondle yarns. I even pulled some yarn for my next project and stared at it while I knit those cuffs. I was friggin’ determined to wear my new sweater out that night, and damn skippy I did. I was able to wear it twice before it was too warm (come on cold front!!). I may be able to take it with me to Minneapolis next week, or to Northern California the week after, if its chilly enough!

I also started Green Gable:

Green Gable WIP

I’m knitting this in Debbie Bliss Cathay in Navy. Love the yarn! Its a bit splitty, but I think it will be a great summer yarn. (please excuse the light burst in the photo, I still don’t have a decent camera and its really hard to photograph dark yarn!!)

I thought for sure I’d be sick of knitting red after Salina, so instead of using the JaggerSpun Zephyr Silk Wool I originally purchased for the Auburn Camp Shirt, I picked up some Classic Elite Silky Alpaca in a beautiful blue. But alas I was not happy with the fabric I got after knitting a swatch on 1’s, and I was NOT going down to 0’s, so Zepphyr it is, in wine. I cast on earlier tonight but there is nothing to see yet so no pics!

