Bayerische Socks

Bayerische Socks

Bayerische Socks

Pattern: Bayerische Socks by Eunny Jang
Needles: US Size 0 DPN’s
Yarn: The Natural Dye Studio Alba Shetland 4 ply sock in Leaf – I used about 385 yards
Mods: Short Row heel and rounded toe

Wow, these took forever. The cables are beautifully constructed, and I love how knitting through the back look made the cables “pop” so well. I knit these for the Sock Knitters Anonymous Sockdown Challenge on Ravelry, and am so glad I did…its like climbing Mount Everest!!! I was shocked that I didn’t use up more yarn – I knit 4 repeats on the leg and 5.5 repeats on the foot (for my huge feet), and thought I would have needed over 400 yards minimum, especially after reading so many Ravelers had ran out of yarn. I’m thinking it has to do with the twist of the yarn and the fact that’s its very light, because normally these socks would gobble up yarn!! I will say that once you get through the first sock the second one flies off the needles!! Verdict – extremely happy!!

I have another FO to report, but I’ll wait to do that tomorrow. I heart instant gratification knits!

I’m trying to clean up my hibernating WIP’s…I’ve got 2 pairs of socks that I need to get out of the way, in addition to Salina which has taken a back burner to all the gifs knit in March. Although I will say I’m CRAVING to knit something springy/summery, so i checked out my Ravelry queue and have some great tops to knit with for already in the stash. Of course I couldn’t reisit buying some new yarn – its actually for a project I’m dying to cast on for – the Auburn Camp Shirt in the new IK. I know, I’m crazy for wanting to knit a top in lace, but its a top I’d totally wear over and over, so I got some JaggerSpun Zephyr Wool-Silk yarn coming to me! In the meantime, I’m thinking either Green Gable, Sizzle, or Glee. Suggestions are welcome!!!

