You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 20, 2008.

FINALLY! My first sweater, AND first FO of 2008!

tyc-fo-1.jpg

Pattern: Tangled Yoke Cardigan by Eunny Jang, Interweave Knits Fall 2007
Needes
: US4, US3, and US0 Addi Turbo Circs
Yarn: Knit Picks Swish DK in Moss
Mods: See below

I did a lot of mods on this cardigan. I probably shouldn’t have since it was mh first sweater and really needed to understand sweater construction before changing things up, but you live and learn, right? The first thing I did was add length to the body, about 2 inches (next time I will spread out the length along the lower half instead of adding it to the top or bottom). I started out by including the faux seam stitch, and at a later point decided I didn’t want it so I left it out of the sleeves, but then was too lazy once I got back to the body to actually go back and reknit that one stitch, so I left it. I don’t think it made a difference in the way the cardi looks, so its all good.

tyc-fo-2.jpg

I also added length to the sleeves – too much length. Here’s where my ignorance in sweater construction came in – I didn’t realize that I should be
measuring from wrist to under the arms…instead I measures from my shoulder, so when I attached the sleeves the were about 3 inches too long! I went back and removed the 3 inches and bound off where I liked the sleeve length. I think I would have died if I have to reknit the sleeves a third time! Another mod to the sleeves was that I shortened the ribbing section. I really like the way they look after all those changes.

tyc-fo-3.jpg

The yarn ended up working pretty well, although I think its a bit on the heavy side. Its very warm and cozy, and I love that its a superwash. However, I think several washing would cause the cabled yoke portion to felt too much (is that good or bad??) so I’ll probably end up hand washing it. After it was all finished I thought the cardi was a bit big, so I stuck it in the washer and dryer, and it did shrink slightly which worked out really really well. I think its just the right fit now!

tyc-fo-4.jpg

Overall, I’m really happy with the knit. I wore it as soon as it was finished, and know it will be a staple of my wardrobe! My first sweater was a success – yay me!!

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Book Links

Visitors

  • 57,891 hits