You know when you area *this* close to finishing a sweater, how you can’t wait to finish it but at the same time your mind starts to wander to what’s next? Yeah, I have that bug. I have been waking up dreaming of my next project and how lovely it will be when finished…this is how obsessed I am with starting something new. I think that all that unselfish knitting from last month boiled over and all that is left is knitting for me me me!!!

I can’t say that’s true though, as I have been knitting for others, mostly the Twining Vine Baby Blanket for my sis (there are no updated pics because its mostly the same, just a bit longer). I need to have this finished by the time I go visit my sis in March before she is due, so I’m trying to work on it a little bit each day. Its such a complicated lace pattern that I really have to focus on it whilst knitting. The good thing is I’ve discovered that the blanket will only need 3 panels instead of 4, so yay!

Onto the chronic-project-starting. I had purchased 8 balls of Rowan Felted Tweed for half off at my LYS and couldn’t wait to knit it up. After a lot of research and some help from some knitting friends, I decided to knit Salina (Ravelry link). I immediately ordered a copy of Rowan Vintage Knits off amazon.com and swatched as soon as I could. I cast on a few days ago, but will not allow myself to continue until the Tangled Yoke is finished (mainly because its bogarting the circs I need). But here’s what I’ve got so far:

salina-wip.jpg

The colorway is Rage #150 and its beautiful. I am in love with how this yarn knits up and the texture. I love tweed but I’m not a huge fan of the kind of tweed that has specks of a multitude of colors…I like my tweed kinda boring, but still tweedy. That’s what I love about this yarn – the specks are grey, black and white, with no purples or greens. Love that.

With Salina on a short hiatus I was itching for something else. I had purchased a beautiful ginormous hank of Alpaca With a Twist Baby Twist, (also half off!) and decided I wanted to knit up a shrug. After checking out the available patterns on Ravelry, I realized that I had the perfect pattern in my copy of Fitted Knits. Soooo, I cast on for the Two-Tone Ribbed Shrug (sorry, another Ravelry link) last night, except mine will not be two-toned:

ribbed-shrug-wip.jpg

The color is Cotton Candy #1003 in the blue family, and oh my how soft this yarn is. Its gorgeous and I want to buy more. The hank has about 550 yards, and I hope that’s enough. If not the sleeves will be just a tad bit shorter 🙂

Tangled Yoke will be finished soon. I’ve just got the button bands to knit and blocking – I actually knit up one side last night and realized that I did it wrong – I made my TY a bit longer than the pattern stated and didn’t realize you are only suppose to pick up but 3 stitches for every 4, or something like that. I’ll be doing some math tonight to figure it out.

I also got some yarn p0rn for you. I sat by the computer and waited for Sundara to update her website so I could order her sock yarn as I have heard rave reviews about it. I don’t think I was the only one because I didn’t get one of the colors I wanted, but that’s ok, I’ll wait until next time!

sundara-sangria.jpg

This one is Sangria over Garnet.

sundara-ember.jpg

And this is Ember over Flame.

The sock yarn is gorgeous! Beautiful vibrant colors and soft yummy yarn. Now I need to knit me some socks – I have so much sock yarn and no socks as of yet! Ooooooh, something else to cast on for!

