My friend suggested to another friend that she may be interested in a knitted clutch, and her fiance told me her wedding colors were red, brown, and aqua, so voila, a stripy felted clutch:

aerins-clutch.jpg

Pattern: The Clutch You’ll Never Give Up by Leigh Radford, One Skein
Needes: US11 Addi Turbo Circs
Yarn: Knit Picks Wool of the Andes in Red, Blue Bonnet, and Chocolate – 1 skein each
Finished Size: 14″ x 6″ pre-felting, 12″ x 6″ post-felting
Mods: Obviously I knit this stripped. If I remember correctly I knit 12 rounds in chocolate and red, then 10 in blue, including the handle. I also cast on 95 stitches as my gauge was off since I was using smaller needles that recommended in the pattern.

I think the clutch is adorable. It was my first felting project, and I closely followed the directions in One Skein for felting, but instead of adding a tennis ball to the washer, I tool the advice of my LYS and added a pair of jeans. It took 3 cycles in the agitator to get it felted all the way. I decided not to add any buttons because 1) My good friend is very particular about stuff like that and I thought she might like to choose something herself, or go without buttons, and 2) I couldn’t find any that I liked and that matched. I also didn’t line the bag for the same reasons but will let Aerin know that if she wants it lined I can sew it in for her (as well as attach any buttons). Now I need one for me!!

