I have several Christmas FO’s to report!  I gave these Cozies to all my brother-in-law’s family, and some of my close friends on Paperback Swap.  They were so easy to make and after knitting a few I had a system and was able to whip each one up in about 90 minutes.  I also added some homemade hot cocoa and mini marshmallows with the mug and cozy.

garter-mug-cozy-2.jpg

garter-mug-cozy-3.jpg

Pattern: Garter Mug Cozies by Cathy Carron, Interweave Knits, Holiday 2007
Needles: US5 Cystal Palace Bamboo DPN’s
Yarn: Berroco Ultra Alpaca in Cardinal, Pea Soup Mix, and Woodland Mix – I used less than 3 skeins for 12 cozies
Mods: I did 6 increases for the base, then knit 10 rounds stockinette before switching to garter rib.  I then knit 16 rounds of garter rib in the main color before switching to the contrast color.  For the tie I cast on 20 stitches instead of 15 on each side.

These are such a great gift!  They are quick to knit up and who doesn’t drink coffee, tea or cocoa?   I recommend buying the mug before knitting to make sure it fits nice and snug 🙂

