moniques-tam.jpgmoniques-tam-closeup.jpg

 

Pattern: Based on the December Lights Tam by Mary Jane Mucklestone (Interweave Knits Holiday Gifts 2007)
Needles: US1 and US2 Addi Turbo Circs
Yarn: ShiBuiKnits Sock in Bark – a little less than 1 skein
Mods: Obviously I didn’t knit this up in fair isle. I used the pattern as a guide on the construction of the Tam. I was also off a little in the row gauge (I had 2 more/inch), so I added 7 rows to the body and another 4 to the decrease rounds, just spaced them out equally.

I love how this turned out! The sock yarn was a delight to knit with (and I still have one skein left so I guess I’ll be buying more Shibui!!). My good friend was flipping through the IK Holiday Gifts issue and said that the tam would be so cute in brown or black, and that she had seen on at Nordstrom’s or something and that it was very expensive. Perfect gift for her! Plus I think it looks really great on her, and I love the color!

