One gift down! I started this Friday night with Paton’s Classic Merino Wool in a cream color, but realized that I had made a mistake along the way so I decided to frog it. I started yesterday with a different yarn and I’m glad I did. I think it looks much better!

mug-cozy-2.jpg

mug-cozy.jpg

Pattern: Mug and French Press Jacket by MK Carroll
Needles: US4 Addi Turbo Circulars 24″ using Magic Loop method
Yarn: Berroco Ultra Alpaca in Pea Soup Mix

 

Overall I think this is a great pattern and I love how the smocking pattern looks. One thing that was a pain in the ass was knitting the base. I started out using bamboo double pointed needles (it seems that many peeps on Ravelry also had issues knitting the base), but once I switched to the Addi Turbo circs it was much easier to knit the base, so I highly recommend anyone knitting this pattern to either use aluminum DPN’s or a smooth circ with magic loop.

