I decided to knit some gifts this year for Christmas – I know, I’m crazy for starting this so late. But I think I can do it! Most of the gifts that I’m gonna make are pretty quick knits. One of the projects I thought might make some cute gifts were the Composed Mitts from Interweave Knits Fall 2007. I’m using Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool instead of Blue Sky Alpaca which the pattern calls for, and I’m doing this for 3 reasons. 1.) I’ve read rave reviews on Elsebeth Lavold’s Silky Wool and really wanted to knit with it myself, 2.) It’s cheaper and has more yardage and therefore 3.) I’m hoping to knit several pairs with the 6 skeins I purchased.

In addition, I’ve never knit fair isle before, so I had to do some research and talk to the peeps at my LYS on advice and such. The one thing I was worried about was carrying over the yarn, and I’m not sure I have that mastered yet. Is it common for the carried over yarn to peek through the work? If not, then I’m doing something wrong. I don’t think its that noticeable, but since I’m a perfectionist in that way I would prefer there to be no peeking!

I stayed up super late last night knitting the first one. I apologize for the state of my pictures…I can’t seem to get any good light in my house, and my camera isn’t the best (at least I can’t figure out how to make it any better). So here’s the progress…

composes-mit2s.jpgcomposes-mits.jpg

I love them! They are super warn, the Silky Wool is lovely to knit with, and I’m positive I can make at least 2 sets of mitts from the 6 skeins I purchased, if not 3. I might purchase another color just to mix things up and have more options. But isn’t it great?! I love learning knew techniques, And now I feel pretty comfy with fair isle. Except those darn carry overs peeking through.

