So I’ve decided to go ahead and RIP back the sleeves that I was working on for the Tangled Yoke Cardigan. I really want long sleeves on that one, so I’ve suppressed the desire to continue knitting on the sleeves I already have and have cast on for narrower ones. What I decided to so is to cast on fewer stitches, but increase more often throughout. I’m a bit worried that this might make the sleeves wide up top, so what I might do it cast on the number of stitches stated in the pattern onto smaller needles and work a few inches or so to see if that fits the same. if so, smaller needles it is.

I’ve finished the body for Lelah! As I spent the weekend contemplating what I was going to do with the Tangled Yoke Cardigan, I went ahead and tackled Lelah, which had been on the back burner for about a month. I had become disenchanted with Lelah as I had to rip back the entire bust portion of the garment – the fit was all wrong for my bust size and I came to the conclusion that I had to add short rows to make the fit right. Given that I had never worked short rows before, I was going to have to do some research and experimenting. There are several different ways to work short rows, and after trying this version, I settled on the Japanese version, as for me it was the most invisible. The other aspect of this that was a bit daunting was that I was working in the round, and most tutorials only describe how to work short rows on straight needles. Once I get a final pic of Lelah posted I’ll describe in detail how I worked the short rows…Anyway, here’s Lelah blocking:

lelah-blocking.jpg

I’ve also made some progress on the Baby Cable Rib Socks. First socks ever, so I’ve had some growing pains with them. I think I’m going to work the second sock toe up to see which method I prefer. Eventually I will probably work socks on magic loop. The sock is slightly big, but I think I’m going to give them to my mom anyway as she really loves the colorway. I detest it, and only realized this after I started knitting with it. Even though I’m completely in love with bright colors, I’ve discovered that for my feet I like warm colors, like this. Anyway, here’s a pic of my progress so far.

baby-rib-cable-sock-progress.jpg

I stopped by my LYS store The Shabby Sheep on Saturday, mainly to get some advice on the Tangled Yoke but of course I can’t leave a yarn store without purchasing some yarn! The holidays are coming up – and I’ve decided to knit a few gifts. So I decided to pick up some yarn for the Composed Mitts in Interweave Knits Fall 2007. I decided on Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool:

elsebeth-lavold-mitts.jpg

I also purchased some yarn for a surprise gift for a family member…I can’t say what its for or who its for, but here’s some yummy Blue Sky Alpaca Organic Cotton:

blue-sky-alpaca-organic-cotton.jpg

