So I’ve been knitting, but I’ve been so busy with work travel and labor day weekend lakehouse bash…and there’s more travel to come! I love my job but sometimes its hard to be away from home for several days at a time. I will definitely take my knitting with me next week – along with a few books! 🙂

Ok, so here’s what I’ve been up to with my knitting. I finished Lelah, but I’ve got issues with it…

lelah.jpg

I love, love, love the top, but here are my issues: The pattern calls for a a set of decreases right after finishing up the lace pattern. I opted not to do them fearing that the bust would not be large enough, and instead added decreases in after I knitted up to the fullness of the bust. This actually turned out ok, however I’m not completely happy with the waist line – I feel like I may have to sinch the waist with the ribbon that goes through the eyelets and that it will look funny. The other problem I’m having is this: there is too much knitted in the back. I have ample bosom, so without shaping there is just too much fabric riding up in the back. Soooo my plan in to frog back all the way to right after the lace, knit the decrease round, then add short rows to the top portion. I’ve never knit short rows before, but I have found several tutorials that were very helpful. I think I’m going to use the Japanese sort row method, and since I’m knitting in the round it will be a bit of a challenge….I think. If anyone has suggestions I’m open to them!

I am very close to finishing the Brea Bag. I’ve knit and blocked both the front and back panels, and am currently knitting the gusset. This was my first cable project, so I learned a new technique in addition to surgery on fixing boo boos on cabled stitches. That was fun let me tell you! I also picked up a leather strap and a button from one of my LYS’s PassionKnit. I love the strap, but will be returning the button – it just doesn’t look right.

brea.jpg

brea-2.jpg

We’ll see how the crochet portion of this goes – I’m pretty new to it, but I have my trusty Happy Hooker as a reference!

I also started swatching for the Tangled Yoke Cardigan. I didn’t get the needed gauge with US 3 circs, so I’m gonna swatch today with 4’s to see how close I am. I have the yarn (Knit Picks Swish DK in Moss) and am ready to go!!

Ok, so I know I said I would only buy yarn for one project per pay period, but how could I NOT attend my LYS’s sale??!! I picked up some awesome yarn to add to my stash from The Shabby Sheep, and have projects for almost all of the yarn I purchased. Here are some sneak peaks:

For Sizzle I picked up Debbie Bliss Cathay in a navy hue at 40% off:

stash1.jpg

For a cotton version of Lelah, I picked up some Rowan Calmer in pink, again at 40% off:

stash2.jpg

I also picked up some Louisa Harding Kashmir Aran in Black – approximately 750 yards but I’m not sure what I’m gonna do with it. I couldn’t pass it up – it was 60% off and there was enough to make a good sized top (I’m thinking something short sleeved or a tank, maybe Lotus Blossom). I also couldn’t leave without buying some Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Chunky in plum and magenta – they were only $3 a ball! I’m thinking I’ll use them to make several Convertible Mittens found in the new Knit.1 magazine as Christmas gifts.

And last but not least, I also found Debbie Bliss Cotton Angora at PassionKnit – and picked up 14 balls which I think I’ll use to make the Minimalist Cardigan or Slanted Knit Pullover.

stash3.jpg

AND OMG I almost forgot about the Lorna Laces Shepard’s Wool Sock Yarn I purchased from Jimmy Bean’s Wool website. It’s their limited edition color for September – Cherries Jubilee. Look how purty:

stash14.jpg

That’s it for today…Knit on!!

