So I finished my Noro Entrelac Scarf last night – stayed up until 2:00am furiously knitting so that i could go to bed happy that it was completed! I originally had bound it off about 5-6 inches shorter than it is now but wasn’t happy with the ending color, so away I frogged. I must say that I’m really happy with how it turned out.

entrelac-finished.jpg

Here’s a cheesy pic with me wearing the scarf. It’s hot as hades here in Dallas but I wanted to show it with my pea coat…

entrelac-finished-3.jpg

Pattern: Entrelac Scarf
Needles: Brittany Art Deco Straight Needles Size 7US
Yarn: Noro Silk Garden in Colorway 211 – 3 balls
Finished Size:  69″ long x 4.5″ wide

I have one more ball of Noro left and I want to knit a matching Entrelac hat, but that’s for later…

And I got mail! I received my Manos del Uruguay yarn in Flame from Jimmy Beans Wool a few days ago and it is as gorgeous as I thought it would be! It’s for the My So Called Scarf, but since I just finished a scarf I’m gonna hold off on knitting it – just for a little while.

manos-flame.jpg

Instead, I started the Adult Devil’s Hat in the Stitch ‘N Bitch book. I decided not to use any fancy yarn quite yet as I have never knitting a hat before, but the yarn I do have is Paton’s Merino Wool. The gauge was about 3 stitches off per 4″, so I’m being a brave knitter and attempting to change up the pattern a bit to accommodate for the smaller gauge. Eeek!

Another project that is very close to being finished is the striped bamboo handle bag. I used the pattern for the Chinese Charm Bag in the Stitch ‘N Bitch book (can’t you tell I love that book?!) as inspiration. I still have to go get some fabric to line the bag, which I might try to do this weekend. The bind off is a little tight so I may go back and rework that.

striped-baboo-bag.jpg

Oh, and I discovered a new knitting store! I have been frequenting Passionknit, which is a great little store and I love to peruse there yarns and patterns. I also discovered The Shabby Sheep, and although their website is not up and running yet (the owner Rhonda said they had someone working on it starting September 1st), the store is great! It might be the only store in Dallas that carries Manos del Uruguay yarn, and their other yarn selection is fabulous. Rhonda was such a great help, chatting with me for over an hour and also tried to help me find out how to knit this scarf by Lorilee Beltman. I will definitely go back!

