I finished these over a month ago. I’m not usually a fan of the variegated yarn (I hate pooling with a passion) but these actually turned out pretty good…

IMG_4100

Pattern: Bloody Mary Socks by Sandra Park
Yarn: Tempted Hand Painted Good Grrl in Bordello (Rav link)
Needles: US Size 1 DPN’s
Mods: Added stitches before heel, then decreased after heel

As I was knitting this up I realized it was a bit tight and would not go over my heel, so I added 6 stitches total (3 separate increases) right before I knit the short row heel, then decreased them right after. This helped keep the spiraly striped thing happening (which I love actually). I think this pattern worked pretty well with the variegated yarn as it broke up the pooling just enough to make it an addition to the sock design. And I like how the socks match in their spiraly stripes!

IMG_4094

All in all, I give this one a thumbs up, even though the socks are a bit tight to get on. But the fear of future pooling with variegated yarn has tempted me to destash the majority of that in my stash :-)

On a WIP front, I’ve got several socks on the needles – I’m working on a mystery sock for a friend which I can’t show quite yet (I’m pretty sure she doesn’t read this but you never know!!!) – those will go up on Ravelry soon since she’s not on there! I’m also working on some Flicker’s:

IMG_4274

These are actually not as orange as they look in the picture. The yarn is Sundara Sock Yarn in the Spiced colorway – I absolutely love her yarn. The colors are just amazing!!

I’m also working on a pair of Firestarters in some Wollmeise 100% Superwash in Indisch Rot:

Firestarters

These actually started pooling on me while knitting the leg, so I abandoned the ribbing called for up the leg and decided to just continue the stockinette and cable pattern as I like how its knitting up that way (the subtle flashes of color are awesome!!!). I found this yarn to be a bit stringy, although I’ve heard that it softens up after washing so I guess we’ll see.

Why all the socks you ask? Because I promised myself I wouldn’t knit sweaters until I lost some weight. I really needed a kick in the ass and my love for sweater knitting just may do the trick. In addition, I just cleared out my entire closet due to a horrible moth infestation (luckily they were only in my closet where no yarn is stored!!!). I’ve rediscovered all these beautiful dresses and lots or slacks for work and cute tops that I haven’t been able to wear, and I’m determined to get into them by winter! So the running starts (and I’m so not a runner, but it seems like a good idea) and the healthy eating with it. I’ll allow myself to knit a sweater everytime I drop a pant size until I get to my desired size. I figured that’s pretty good motivation, right? Maybe I’ll add a pair of shoes to that too, to go with all my handknit socks :-)