…write about my current WIP’s for a while now, but somehow life (and knitting) interfered!! (note, this is a picture heavy post)

I think I eluded to a Garter Toke Cardi that my friend Elin and I were gonna start knitting together. We are emulating Knittingdropout’s gorgeous cardi that she is currently writing a pattern for (raveled here). We couldn’t wait so we decided to go ahead and do the calculations ourselves and knit away! I’m through the waist shaping and I’m currently working on one of the sleeves (I have a fear that I’ll run out of yarn even though I still have 6 balls left).

Garter Yoke Cardi

Garter Yoke Cardi

I’m using O-Wool Balance in Lapis, and I love it! When I first got the color I liked it but didn’t love it…But as I’ve been knitting I’ve really fallen in love with this color. Such a beautiful shade of blue. And I really want to get some of the Malachite color as well. Love O-Wool! And it has been real fun designing my own sweater (I love math!!), even if I’ve erased my numbers hundreds of times (aaaand I just realized that I effed up somewhere and I have to frrrrrrrrog all the way to the raglan!!, well, maybe I can fix without frogging – we’ll see.). Its actually inspired me to design some other garments, and socks! Which is what I’ve been doing…

These are currently called the Knitty Twist Socks (raveled here). There is still some tweaking left in the pattern, but I love how they turned out. And oh my how I love Dream in Color Smooshy! This is the In Vino Veritas colorway:


Knitty Twist Socks

Knitty Twist socks

These are my V is for Vesper socks (raveled here). I might rename them once I get the design down pat. I really wanted to knit something a bit more interesting for self striping socks than just you regular stockinette, something that shows off the striping goodness and at the same time keeps the knitting interesting. Not sure if this is going to fulfill that desire, only time will tell.

Vesper Socks

I’ve also been knitting a pair of Sandra Park’s Bloody Mary socks in Tempted Good Grrl Sock Yarn in the Bordello colorway. I’m not a huge fan of highly variegated yarn as I don’t like pooling or flashing very much, but I really like how this looks:

Bloody Mary's

And lastly I started my mom’s Christmas Cardi. I decided that I wasn’t going to knit for other people unless it was requested of me, and my mom wanted a cardi, so we went through some magazines and books and she picked out a few patterns. The one I decided on was Joy by Kim Hargraeves in her new collection Nectar (this book has FANTASTIC patterns!!). I’m not using the Rowan Denim the pattern calls for, so I’m just adjusting for the Denim shrinkage (which I actually don’t have to adjust for at all as my row gauge is pretty close to Denim’s after the shrinkage)

Mom's Joy

Oh, and am I the only person in the knitting community that doesn’t want to knit the February Lady Sweater??!!