So, I’ve been MIA lately. I’ve been knitting, but just getting back on my feel from an insane month of May. I was gone for half the month traveling, got sick from all the tree pollen in Northern California, and then woke up with a horrid crick in my neck after spending the night at my parent’s lakehouse for Labor Day. AGH!!!

There have been good times within all the insanity…I celebrated my 33rd birthday on the 9th, and along with 2 other friends who also had birthdays within a week apart celebrated all together with an evening cookout – turkey burgers, homemade oreo ice cream (OMG!!!), chocolate cake, lots of vodka and tequila shots make for a very memorable birthday!

And last night we celebrated another friend’s birthday! We had sushi (my third time for sushi in one week!!!) and went to the gay bar for some dancing. What’s better than a country gay bar, I ask??

Here’s another form of eye candy (if you like the color red…and socks):

Leyburn

Pattern: Leyburn Socks by MintyFresh
Yarn: Sundara Sock Yarn in Sangria over Garnet
Needles: Size 1 Addi Lace circs
Mods: Lots!! See below

Love these socks!! Its too hot to wear them now, but they are absolutely gorgeous. I did have a bit of a hard time getting these to fit. The first time I knit them I followed the pattern exactly and couldn’t get them over my heel without pulling and pulling and pulling.  So I ripped the sock out and instead of increasing the instep stitches to only 31, I increased to 37 stitches.

The pattern also calls for increases right before knitting the heel to make it easier to get thje sock on and off, and additional increase after the heel for the leg.  I tried this and the result was a baggy leg!!  So I simply increased the sole stitches before the heel to a total of 35 stitches and used those for the short row heel. They fit perfectly! Here’s a close up of the slip-stitch pattern:

Layburn

SOCK LOVE!!!